The Rutland Times
Vol 1 Issue 5 October 22, 1996

Rutlemania Returns On October 29!

Amidst rumors of pushed back release dates, a reliable source at Virgin records today confirmed the October 29 release date of Archaeology!

[Virgin Records -- FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - October 22, 1996]


Rutlemania returns to the world on October 29 when the most legendary band in music history - The Rutles - release their long-anticipated Archaeology album of previously unreleased material. The album includes their newest song Shangri-La - which will be promoted by a music video depicting the most eagerly-awaited reunion in music history, and featuring The Rutles accompanied by an all-star chorus of some of the world's leading entertainers. Archaeology will be issued worldwide by Virgin Records.


The album contains a total of 16 tracks. 13 are vintage recordings; the other three are newly recorded tracks created after the band reunited to supervise the release of the historic recordings. The titles of the songs are:

  • Major Happy's Up And Coming Once Upon A Good Time Band
  • Rendezvous (Barry Wom on vocal)
  • Questionnaire
  • We've Arrived (And To Prove It We're Here)
  • Lonely-Phobia
  • Unfinished Words
  • Hey Mister!
  • Easy Listening (Barry's country tune)
  • Now She's Left You (featuring Leppo)
  • The Knicker Elastic King
  • I Love You
  • Eine Kleine Middle Klasse Musik
  • Joe Public

And the three new tracks are:

  • Shangri-La
  • Don't Know Why
  • Back In '64

Unlike many anthology albums of historic recordings - which contain only outtakes and alternative versions of familiar songs - the Rutles album consists of material entirely new to fans. The long-unissued tracks are drawn from the album the band was working on when they broke up many years ago amid squabbles and lawsuits. The project was abandoned and the master tapes were buried. Literally.

As was widely reported at the time, all of the tapes were placed in a time capsule and buried in a secret location. Announcing that action, a spokesman for The Rutles had stated that this was "to thwart bootleggers. And tax authorities." And that the capsule would "stay buried for a thousand years." He added that the album wouldn't be released unless it was "discovered by archaeologists, or whoever digs these things up." This led to Rutles fans dubbing the interred recordings the Archaeology tapes.

Asked why the legendary tapes have been dug up by The Rutles themselves - a mere 26 years later - Rutles leader Ron Nasty has stated simply, "things change." All further queries have been referred to the band's accountants.

The album is being released on CD, with a full-color 28 page booklet containing all the lyrics.


The music video for Shangri-La shows The Rutles recording the song in New York, with an all-star chorus lending vocal support.

The impressive and fascinating blend of stars appearing in the video with The Rutles range from rock stars Peter Gabriel, Graham Nash, Cyndi Lauper and Slash (of Guns 'N Roses) to rock legends Ben E. King and Richie Havens; and from disco divas Gloria Gaynor and Vicki Sue Robinson ("Turn The Beat Around") to comedian/actors Richard Belzer, Janeane Garofalo, Bill Maher, Marsha Warfield and Taylor Negron.

Other notable faces singing in the chorus are Beach Boy Al Jardine; jazz giant David Sanborn; Living Colour's Corey Glover; alternative rockers Aimee Mann and Michael Penn; singer/ songwriters Stephen Bishop and Paul Williams; kitsch '60s pop icons Nancy Sinatra and Pat Boone - and the inimitable Eartha Kitt!


Three of the four original Rutles reunited to prepare the old recordings for release and to record the three new songs - Ron Nasty, Stig O'Hara and Barry Wom. The fourth Rutle - Dirk McQuickly - was unavailable for the sessions. The Rutles have issued a simple statement: "Sadly Dirk is no longer with us. He's gone into comedy."

The Archaeology album is the first release of any Rutles material since their Grammy-nominated greatest hits compilation, All You Need Is Cash, was released in 1978 by Warner Bros. Records. That album - and its 1991 CD reissue by Rhino Records - has been an outstanding seller.

The release comes at a time when interest in The Rutles is at an all-time high. Many of today's hottest bands - including Oasis, Smashing Pumpkins and R.E.M. - cite The Rutles as a major influence.


To celebrate the return of Rutlemania, VH1 will air the classic 1978 Rutles documentary All you Need Is Cash (which traced the rise and fall of the Rutles). Two airings have been set: Saturday, November 2 at 7:00 PM and Sunday, November 3 at 5:00 PM. (All times are good for east and west coasts.)

Rhino Jumps on the Rutles Bandwagon

[Rhino Records - Friday, October 4, 1996 - For Immediate Release]

LOS ANGELES -- The Pre-Fab Four have recorded a brand-new album, Archeology, that Virgin Records plans to unleash to the world on October 29.

With the classic album THE RUTLES in the Rhino vaults (featuring such staples as "Hold My Hand," "With A Girl Like You," "I Must Be In Love," "Ouch!," "Love Life," "Piggy In The Middle," and "Cheese And Onions"), and the home video release earlier this year of the rockumentary ALL YOU NEED IS CASH, this new album will help fans discovering The Rutles for the first time through Archeology about the salad days of this quintessential quartet.

Long before Spinal Tap hummed the first few bars to "All The Way Home," another group was ripping up the charts around the globe, a group that was quite possibly the most self-important band of all time.

Consisting of members Dirk McQuickly, Ron Nasty, Stig O'Hara (the quiet one), and Barry Wom (the noisy one), THE RUTLES were four iconoclastic pop culture phenoms from Liverpool who changed the world.

ALL YOU NEED IS CASH documents the lads from their early days playing the Cavern Club, to Hamburg, to their American premiere on The Ed Sullivan Show. We hear all of the above-mentioned songs, and see them in their first feature film A Hard Day's Rut, their second film Ouch!, and their disastrous Tragical History Tour. They discover table-tapping, meet their future brides, record the revolutionary album Sergeant Rutter's Only Darts Club Band, and perform a riveting rooftop concert for the film and album Let It Rot.

Perspectives on the group are offered up by the likes of Mick Jagger and Paul Simon, with additional contributions by Bill Murray the K, Ron Decline, and Brian Thigh. The film also features surprise guest shots by Ron Wood, Gilda Radner, Bianca Jagger, and George Harrison (founder of Handmade Films).

Both THE RUTLES CD and ALL YOU NEED IS CASH home video are also available through RhinoDirect at 1-800-432-0020.

<< Back to News Index